rysk-sallad

Direktlänk till inlägg 11 augusti 2015

First day(s) of training

Av Anders - 11 augusti 2015 21:20

First, I must apologise for the fact that the WiFi in my apartment seems to be unstable so I cannot post as often as I would like, that is daily.


My Russian classes have already started and I'm slowly sinking into the frustration I felt before leaving here the last time. It's so hard for me and sometimes I feel like I'm not making any progress. However, outside the classroom things are turning out very well.

  Yesterday I cooked "Pelmeni", it's a typical Russian dish which is similar to ravioli but it's another type of dough and is usually filled with meet and spices. It's traditionally served with "smetana", which can be translated as sour cream. I've noticed though that the kitchen seems to only have one pot, which makes it difficult for a masterchef, such as myself.


Today I've had my first workout, I friend of mine in Sweden recommended me to try Aikido and through another friend I came in contact with a very nice Russian fellow who trains Aikido. Everyone at the training were very nice to me, they even picked me up and drove me to the dojo. They say that Russians aren't always very nice, but I've found that to be false. Just like in every other country, there are nice and there are unpleasent people. Instead, I think that when you've successfully befriended a Russian, they are very loyal to you and can be very helpfull.


That's it for now folks. Stay tuned!


Word of the day: в меру (v mero) - "moderatly". For a swede, this expression is interesting. There is a Swedish word called "lagom" and it's usually said that there is no word for it in any other language. It basicly means balance, that there is not too much of anything. I've been tought that when the vikings made a toast, they drank out of the same cup. For the drink to last, everyone needed to drink so that there would be enough for everyone. They needed to drink so that it would be enough for the team (lag) around (om). This Russian expression seems to be the closest translation there is to this word.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Anders - 11 september 2015 14:20

Yeah so it's been a while since I posted something here. I've just not felt like bloging the last few weeks, but I've kept myself busy!   School is going well, I have learned a lot of Russian and I continue to try and learn as many words as I can...

Av Anders - 16 augusti 2015 10:06


Yesterday I went to Veliky Novgorod, which is a town located 3 and a half hour south, going by bus, from Saint Petersburg. I've been there three years ago in November, and although I got up quite early it was worth going there in summer. Veliky Novgo...

Av Anders - 14 augusti 2015 19:55

I'm a bit tired at the moment, but in a good mood. Yesterday I once again attended aikido class where I met with my trainer, Viktor, who will help me explore the art. We trained Bokken (with wodden swords) and it was very interesting and fun. Also, I...

Av Anders - 9 augusti 2015 20:47


I'm currently sitting in my apartment in Saint Petersburg. It feels so good to be back, and I must say that the city is even more beautiful in summer (I've only been here in fall, winter, and spring). My apartment consists of 4 rooms, including the k...

Av Anders - 4 augusti 2015 16:28


About 4 years ago, a coworker of mine reminded me of what I always need to hear; life is short and one should make as many dreams as possible come true. She encouraged me to do something I knew I wanted to do. This made me go to Saint Petersburg two ...

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Omröstning

Vad tycker du är mest kännetecknande för Ryssland?
 Den ortodoxa kyrkan
 Balalajkan
 Kosmonauterna
 Vodkan
 Kylan
 Pälsmössa/kappa
 Sovjet
 Annat

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
         
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Augusti 2015 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards