rysk-sallad

Direktlänk till inlägg 4 augusti 2015

Returning to Russia, restarting my blog

Av Anders - 4 augusti 2015 16:28

About 4 years ago, a coworker of mine reminded me of what I always need to hear; life is short and one should make as many dreams as possible come true. She encouraged me to do something I knew I wanted to do. This made me go to Saint Petersburg two times, 4 months all together, to study Russian. Now, three years since my last homecoming, I’m returning to this fantastic city once again.


Last time I was there, I started this blog to keep my friends and family up to date on my adventure, writing about the Russian culture and language. Since then, I’ve acquired many English speaking friends, leading me to restarting this blog in English this time. For those of you who are new to this blog: Welcome! Here you will learn about my experiences in Russia and about the Russian language; in every post I will provide the word of the day.


The purpose of this blog is threefold; to tell my friends and family about my life in Russia, to teach the readers about Russian culture and language and therapy for me to use the blog as my diary whilst struggling to learn Russian.


Furthermore, a few apologies are in order. First, English is not my native language and even though I will try to check my posts thoroughly before posting, I will make spelling and grammar mistakes. Second, knowing myself, I know that I will get tired of bloging as my stay in Russia progresses. The posts will be fewer and fewer as the end of my adventure approaches. Third, in accordance with one of the purposes of the blog, I will consider it my prerogative to write about whatever I want and when I want. This suggests that some days I will be in a bad mood and this may affect the post in terms of language and length.


Now, for those of you who do not know Saint Petersburg, it was founded by Peter the great in the year 1703. It is populated by around 5 million people, depending if you count the entire province of Saint Petersburg. I will live close to St. Isaac's Cathedral. My school is at the Russian Museum (to the right in the map below), near the corner of Sadovaya and Italianskaya Ulitsa (“Ulitsa” meaning “street”).


 


I leave on Sunday the 9th of August and I will go home again on the 20th of December. Hopefully I will have learned Russian by then.


Kind regards,

Anders


Word of the day: досуг (dosug) – leisure.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Anders - 11 september 2015 14:20

Yeah so it's been a while since I posted something here. I've just not felt like bloging the last few weeks, but I've kept myself busy!   School is going well, I have learned a lot of Russian and I continue to try and learn as many words as I can...

Av Anders - 16 augusti 2015 10:06


Yesterday I went to Veliky Novgorod, which is a town located 3 and a half hour south, going by bus, from Saint Petersburg. I've been there three years ago in November, and although I got up quite early it was worth going there in summer. Veliky Novgo...

Av Anders - 14 augusti 2015 19:55

I'm a bit tired at the moment, but in a good mood. Yesterday I once again attended aikido class where I met with my trainer, Viktor, who will help me explore the art. We trained Bokken (with wodden swords) and it was very interesting and fun. Also, I...

Av Anders - 11 augusti 2015 21:20

First, I must apologise for the fact that the WiFi in my apartment seems to be unstable so I cannot post as often as I would like, that is daily.   My Russian classes have already started and I'm slowly sinking into the frustration I felt before ...

Av Anders - 9 augusti 2015 20:47


I'm currently sitting in my apartment in Saint Petersburg. It feels so good to be back, and I must say that the city is even more beautiful in summer (I've only been here in fall, winter, and spring). My apartment consists of 4 rooms, including the k...

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Omröstning

Vad tycker du är mest kännetecknande för Ryssland?
 Den ortodoxa kyrkan
 Balalajkan
 Kosmonauterna
 Vodkan
 Kylan
 Pälsmössa/kappa
 Sovjet
 Annat

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
         
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Augusti 2015 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards